Friday, October 07, 2022

Alan Silvestri's Lara Croft: Tomb Raider - The Cradle of Life original score receives re-release "Deluxe Edition" treatment

Varese Sarabande provides Tomb Raider and film score fans with an unexpected expanded catalogue release of Alan Silvestri's original score to Lara Croft: Tomb Raider - The Cradle of Life. Nearly 20 years later, the 2003 film and its 2001 predecessor starring Angelina Jolie do have quite the cult following. Four respective soundtrack albums were previously released, two alongside each film, being both original scores and various artist feature compilations. 

The "Deluxe Edition" album includes approximately thirty minutes of unreleased music, more-or-less constituting an unprecedented complete score release for the franchise's second film entry. This album is immediately available across all streaming and digital music platforms, which is unusual for such a niche project, as well as a limited edition physical 2-CD run consisting of 2000 copies only. The latter collectible is out on October 28th, 2022, available to pre-order at Varese Sarabande today.

MoTR of course has secured a copy for archiving and the album is published in our Commercial Discography. Full tracklist supplied after the jump below - we've taken the liberty of highlighting the previously unreleased material. Notably, Craig Armstrong's "Lab Scene" has been included as track 14 "She Escaped - Break In". This may or may not be as previously suspected an ultimately unused, Silvestri-embellished version of the piece, regardless, Armstrong goes conspicuously uncredited. "Shoot Her Between The Eyes" appears to be the Silvestri substitute, denoted here as ultimately unused in the final film. 

Both Lara Croft: Tomb Raider (2001) & Cradle of Life (2003) are notorious for having hired composers at very late stages of production. Silvestri, according to the DVD featurettes, famously borrowed and varied Nathan McCree's original Tomb Raider video game motif for the second film. Following expansion of the hour-long album of 2003, new liner notes from Silvestri himself are included in the 2022 Deluxe Edition - issued to those first lucky two-thousand owners.    

  1. Opening [1:40]
  2. Jet Ski - Meet Lara [4:09]*
  3. The Luna Temple [7:44]
  4. Shark Attack [3:18]
  5. Traitor Dying [3:39]*
  6. "I Need Terry Sheridan" [5:40]
  7. Kill Me - Leaving Prison [1:32]*
  8. Arrival In China [1:46]
  9. Shay Ling - Tilt Your Head Back [3:02]*
  10. Captured By The Shay Ling [5:59]
  11. Escape From Chen [4:19]
  12. To Shanghai - Flower Pagoda Battle Part 2 [3:00]*
  13. Flower Pagoda Battle [5:42]
  14. She Escaped - Break In [5:22]*/**
  15. Shoot Her Between The Eyes [4:42]*/***
  16. Skydive Getaway [2:12]
  17. Skydiving Sequence [1:51]*
  18. Why Didn't You Kill Reiss [4:45]*
  19. Orb Transmission [1:42]
  20. Journey To The Cradle Of Life [6:23]
  21. Tribal Journey [1:33]*
  22. The Cradle Of Life [6:34]
  23. Pandora's Box [5:24]
  24. "Not Meant To Be Found" [0:45]
  25. Lara Croft - Tomb Raider [0:52]
*Previously unreleased
**Craig Armstrong (uncredited)
***Not in film
Total Running Time: 1 hour, 34 minutes

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking your time to visit MoTR! Feel free to leave a comment. We'll do our best to respond to enquiries, tips or requests.