Friday, July 30, 2021

Nathan McCree releases The Tomb Raider Suite Synth Mixes

The Tomb Raider Suite: The Synth Mixes double album hits the project's digital store today and this is something to celebrate, being the closest thing ever to an album release of the original Tomb Raider (1996), Tomb Raider II (1997) & Tomb Raider III: Adventures of Lara Croft (1998) soundtrack(s). The latter - the publication of the original soundtracks themselves - is still planned, according to composer Nathan McCree. This collection consists of and authentically reproduces the expanded Tomb Raider Suite (2018) material to mimic the feel and timbre of the original video game soundtracks.

Presented as the near identical Tomb Raider Suite track arrangements, the 94-minute Synth Mixes have been "lovingly recreated using 2 x Roland JV1080 synthesisers" - the exact equipment used to produce the electronic soundtracks to the original nineties classic era games starring the titular character Lara Croft. While the digital release is available in lossless quality, a physical CD and Vinyl is slated as possible, but only if demand suffices.

The crowd-funded production and historical release of the Tomb Raider Suite marked the first standalone, commercially available music by original Tomb Raider composer Nathan McCree. A world tour of the orchestral show was halted by the COVID-19 pandemic, but a feature documentary is still in the works.

The Tomb Raider Suite Synth Mixes
joins MoTR's commercial discography catalogue and the ever-growing collection of officially sanctioned franchise albums. Full track-listing after the jump below.
The Tomb Raider Suite: The Synth Mixes

  1. The Temple Of Xian [2:25]
  2. Tomb Raider Theme [3:14]
  3. Where The Depths Unfold [2:07]
  4. A Friend Since Gone [2:54]
  5. The T-Rex [3:08]
  6. A Long Way Down [3:19]
  7. Longing For Home [3:12]
  8. Time To Run [3:25]
  9. Tomb Raider 2 Theme [2:49]
  10. Vertigo [3:38]
  11. Venice [2:41]
  12. Lara [4:01]
  13. The Skidoo [3:08]
  14. Precious Moments [6:01]
  15. Tomb Raider 3 Theme [2:22]
  16. The Puzzle Element [3:56]
  17. Something Spooky In That Jungle [3:49]
  18. Tony (The Loon) [2:58]
  19. The Cavern Sewers [3:03]
  20. She's Cool [3:23]
  21. In The Blood [4:32]
  22. Tomb Raider Medley [7:22]
  23. Tomb Raider 2 Medley [7:20]
  24. Tomb Raider 3 Medley [8:29]
Total Running Time: 94 minutes

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for taking your time to visit MoTR! Feel free to leave a comment. We'll do our best to respond to enquiries, tips or requests.